Punkie Night

As much as I love peaches & fresh basil & sun-warmed tomatoes & floaty skirts, summer & I have a rocky relationship, at best. The heat & humidity of a southern Pennsylvania summer all but crushes my will to live in a matter of weeks.

But fall? Me & fall, we’re best friends.

The moment the nights start getting chilly & the dry winds pick up, it’s like a weight has been lifted off my forehead & I can think & breathe & move again. And I can wear long, yummy socks, and drink tea, and sleep with the windows wide open.

I dreamed up Punkie Night this summer, while hiding in the basement & packing orders. I usually put a movie on to pass the time, & I’d been vicariously drawn to some fall favorites: the Harry Potter series, Something Wicked This Way Comes, & of course, The Nightmare Before Christmas. I wanted a scent that begged to be slurped, like hot sweet milky tea on a crisp morning. I knew I wanted lots of clove, a note that simply screams autumn. And what would a fall release be without pumpkin?

Pumpkin blends are, in truth, really difficult to get right. Most pumpkin fragrance oils rely on a wallop of spices to evoke that quintessential pumpkin pie smell, including a hefty & often chokingly thick dose of cinnamon. Finding a pumpkin fragrance without that spice overload is tough, but I’m lucky enough to have found one that gracefully treads the line between spicy & creamy. By itself, it’s almost overwhelmingly sweet, but cut with smoky black tea (which some of you might recognize from The Englishman), dry spices & an extra slosh of clove & black pepper it transforms into what is being called The Best Pumpkin Chai Blend Ever Made. (Thank you, Twitter followers!)

For my money, Punkie Night is at its best in Sorbetto, where the milkiness of the pumpkin really blooms underneath the tea & spices. But the hot process soap is worth pouncing on, too, for the almost cedary quality that emerges after the cure… Either way, snatch up your Punkie Nights soon!

Punkie Night is in stock through early November…

 

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in Scent Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Punkie Night

  1. james says:

    How can I place an order without having to ‘sign’ up on facebook????

Leave a Reply

