The Blushing Heart

So in case it isn’t clear to those of you who don’t know me in person, I am not what you would call a girly girl. I couldn’t give a toss about fancy shoes, I can’t tell you the last time I painted my nails, & as a rule, all things pink & glittery make me break out in hives…

I am also a rose hater. I don’t mind real roses, especially the wild, rambling blooms that take over hedgerows & fences. But rose-scented things? Pardon me while I shudder. I pin my aversion to an episode from early childhood, when I spilled a bottle of very cheap, nasty rose eau de toilette all over my bedspread & had to live with the stench of it for weeks. My room was painted pink at the time, with sparkly pink shag carpet, & the combination of that much color with that much fragrance was enough to put me off both for life.

Or so I thought.

First released as part of the 2011 Secret Heart series, The Blushing Heart started as a straight lychee scent. I love all things lychee, & was delighted to find a very true fragrance from one of my favorite suppliers. Alas, once I put it in product, it was so mild & faint it was hardly worth the effort. So I started fussing about with complementary notes that I thought would underscore the floral fruitiness I was looking for.

Lychees are, in truth rather strange, slightly unphotogenic things, especially when peeled. But their flavor & fragrance are magical, an ethereal blend of pale melon, rose petals & a bit of grapefruity tartness. They are worth tracking down fresh, if you can find them – the tinned ones aren’t nearly as tasty, but the juice makes for a lovely drink cut with soda water…

I was lucky enough to have been sent a tiny sample of an absolutely amazing rose blend, one that I’d reluctantly smelled & instantly recognized as something spectacular. Soft, sweet, & velvety-fresh, it was a far, far cry from the old-lady fustiness I’d come to associate with the bloom. Coupled with just a drop of a pink grapefruit blend (that quite frankly, would peel the skin off a rhino at full strength), it was the perfect underpinning for the delicate lychee.

And really, once I smelled the final blend, I couldn’t make it anything but the most ridiculous, sparkly pink imaginable.

I’ve found myself reaching for The Blushing Heart repeatedly during this rather uninspiring late winter – my soul is ready for spring, ready to shed the dirty grey-brown mantle of dead leaves & twirl in the sunshine. The Blushing Heart is unabashed joy & femininity, fresh & pink & juicy & romantic, the kind of scent to wear just because it makes you happy. And even the most practical woman needs that once in a while…

The Blushing Heart will be available through June 30th…

 

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in Scent Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Blushing Heart

  1. I am so glad that you were able to find rose-type scent that worked for you! Rosy fragrances are beautiful, especially when you find that scent that is perfect for you!

Leave a Reply

