Mother Winter

So I hadn’t planned on doing a Limited Edition scent for January. The holiday season was deliciously hectic, and I’d promised myself a very low-key start to the new year, rife with exciting things like tax paperwork & label re-formatting. Don’t say I don’t know how to party…

But sometimes an idea hits you like a freight train, and you’ve no choice but to hop on & let it whisk you into the snowy hinterlands.

One of the small joys of winter, for me, is forcing bulbs. I don’t do it as often as I’d like now, our house being a rather dark & cozy affair with few windows bright enough to tease forth the reluctant blooms. But while we lived in Chicago, I’d trek to the amazing garden center just south of us & come home with tiny paper bags stuffed with papery, earthy-smelling bulbs. I did a shallow plate of miniature tulips & crocuses one year, red & purple & gold blossoms barely an inch wide, hovering over tender green leaves & white gravel. Another year it was amaryllis, phallic & audacious & distressingly top-heavy…

My perennial favorites, though, are the snow-white, impossibly delicate blooms of paperwhite narcissus & freesia. Nurturing such ethereal dainties through a brutal midwestern winter was an exercise in attentiveness & unmitigated hope, rewarded by their peppery-sweet fragrance drifting through our drafty & overheated apartment.

As the past holiday season wound to a close, I found myself longing for the scent of freesias in the house again. Drifting off a bit one quiet afternoon, I formed a picture in my mind of those flowers, perched on hopeful green stems, surrounded by deep burgundy berries & delicate sprigs of thyme & evergreens, and flooded with the incomparable light of sun reflected off fresh snow.

Mother Winter encapsulates that scene, bright & sweet & fresh, a welcome respite from the heavier scents of autumn & Yuletide. A delicate blend of white flowers, cinnamon-tinged potpourri berries & crisp thyme, it is a wonderfully uplifting, comforting scent that echoes the peace & solitude of winter. I’m not much for room scents, as a rule, but Mother Winter would make a fantastic candle or spray – something to look into for her return…

Mother Winter will be available, in luxury bars only, through March 1st…

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in Scent Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

