Shaking off the dust

I’m still here, I promise. Needless to say, the autumn & winter seasons got away from me, and while I wrote all manner of wonderful blog posts in my head, I failed to put them anywhere they would actually count. Which is a shame, really, as I’ve missed this regular time to sit with you all & air out my brain a bit. Here’s to new years & fresh starts – thanks for hanging in there!

First off, I want to thank each & every one of you for an incredible 2011. It has been amazing to see how this business has grown & flourished in the past 12 months, and it is all thanks to you. I can make all the delicious soap & scrubs & lotions I like & write about them til I’m blue in the face, but without someone to take them home & love them & use them, it’s all for nothing. Thank you for having such faith in & enthusiasm for what I do – it keeps me jumping, in the very best way.

I’ve had a flurry of inquiries about what’s to come in the new year, and have hinted at some new developments, so let’s map things out, shall we?

I’ll be shaking the proverbial tree in the next few weeks, letting go of some scents that have dwindled in popularity enough that it’s time to move them on. It’s especially hard this round, as these three were some of my very first blends, but a necessary step if I’m to make room for new growth… So heads up, folks – I’m discontinuing Pants Relief Elixir, Beet It & Man in the Moon, with the final batches being made at the end of January. I’m happy to take custom batch orders for these blends, but I just can’t justify keeping them in stock at this point. Avast! will also be going dark for a few months, but will be back for the summer, fear not. Thanks for understanding.

Now, for some good news! After over a year in exile, Hoarfrost has returned, with a gentle tweak & a new name… Heima (“at home” in Icelandic) combines frosty peppermint, eucalyptus & spruce with a brush of thyme for a cold, herbal-mint scent that’s just right for groggy mornings & hot afternoons.

I’ve got the last of the Yuletides in the shop, and they’ll be making way for the return of the Secret Hearts on the 15th of January… Icy-fruity Frozen Heart & the bittersweet Black Heart will be back this year. Blushing Heart has been delayed due to component ship dates but will make an appearance later in the season.

As for the rest of the year, hold onto your soap dishes… Look for monthly Limited Editions, including lots of old favorites & a few new faces! I’ve been playing with essential oils and charcoal this winter & have a facial soap in the works for later this year, as well as a lovely unisex essential oil blend that will hopefully make its way into soap, Slip & Sorbetto.

Most exciting, however, is my foray into from-scratch soaping – I’ve nailed down a coconut-oil-free formula fortified with mango butter and avocado oil that lathers beautifully & provides a more luxurious option for my delicate-skinned fans out there… I’ll blog about the details later in the month when I have an ETA, but suffice to say I am absolutely giddy about this new project!

So there you have it, folks… I hope you’re as excited as I am about the new year & all it holds. I’m so glad you’re along for the ride πŸ™‚

 

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in News & Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shaking off the dust

  1. Jess E says:

    hoooooray for coconut oil free soap! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. maria says:

    Pants Relief Elixir is the best name ever.

  3. Alice says:

    Cold (or hot) process soaps in your scents? *dies* I’m one of those people who can’t use the glycerin ones every day, and pretty much not at all in winter. I know it’s me, not you, so I’m very excited for this new option coming down the line!

  4. Sarah says:

    SO excited for all that is in store! Heading over to Etsy now to convo you for my next order… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

