Announcing: The Great Leap Forward

As many of you already know, I’ve been a slave to two mistresses since starting Paintbox Soapworks. For the past 6 years, I’ve been spending the bulk of my weekdays at my desk job, senior account manager for a database company in Chicago. When we moved back east a few years ago, I brought the job with me, & have been telecommuting from home. It has been a great job, all things considered, affording me the income & flexibility to be a mother, a homeowner, & now a small business owner. My working at home is what has allowed me the time & energy to get Paintbox Soapworks off the ground so quickly, & for that, I am deeply grateful.

Alas, one can only serve two causes for so long without both of them suffering, & I’ve got a family vying for my attention, as well. Something had to give, & after much reflection (& several months of intense calculations), my path became clear.

And so it is, dear reader, that I have loosed the bonds of the “job”, free-falling into the ranks of the fully self-employed.  It is exhilarating & nerve-wracking & bloody terrifying at times, but above all else, it feels like coming home. My path is now mine, & mine alone. If I go off the rails, true, I have no one to blame but myself. But by the same token I can push & cultivate & grow this business into everything that I want it to be.

I would not be here if it weren’t for the encouragement & support of every single one of my customers. Thank you for trusting me with your skin, your loyalty & your hard-earned dollars. Thank you for your input & your enthusiasm. And thank you for choosing me.

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in Prattle. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Announcing: The Great Leap Forward

  1. therhoda says:

    WHOO HOO go GO, Are you going to do a soap for this? I think i would LVOE to get a bar of great wide open. Not sure what it would smell like but i would get it regardless. I am so happy for you!

  2. Hayley says:

    Oh therhoda. That is a most excellent & amazing suggestion. Pardon me whilst my head explodes with ideas 😉

  3. Kate Amirault says:

    Squeeee!

  4. Alicia says:

    Congratulations!!! I know you can do it! 🙂

  5. Iris says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  6. Lou says:

    So proud of you! Congrats! I remeber when you frst openend your store! Can’t wait to see what you do! xx

  7. MotherKat says:

    omg YAY!! I can’t wait to see what comes to your store now that you’re devoting ALL your work time to it!

Leave a Reply

