The Immaculate Confection

Confession: I very nearly named this scent Chocolate Jesus.

I’m a huge Tom Waits fan, & his song by that name had been stuck in my head for a few days. I’d been rolling around ideas for spring & Easter releases, & the idea of a scent so rich & decadent that it verged on blasphemy made me snort with laughter.

I posted an informal poll on my personal social media accounts, just to see what reaction I’d get. This is rather unlike me – I tend to not give a flying rat what other people think – but as pleased as I was with the concept, I knew it’d raise some eyebrows.

It turns out folks aren’t much into the idea of a chocolaty sweet savior. I had a few friends who got the joke & thought it marvelous, but the bulk of those who responded cautioned me against going with the name. There was talk of alienating my customer base, of unintentionally offending or coming off as something I’m not.

Who knew soap could be so controversial?

So, I filched another of Wait’s perfect turns-of-phrase & applied it to this ridiculously gluttonous scent. It’s a bit of a swamp water/suicide blend – I collected all of the sugar-sweet, candy-rific samples I’d been sent in the past few months & a big empty bottle & started pouring… The beauty of blending is that it can turn scents that are all but intolerable on their own into something that makes you want to eat your arm.

But as I keep saying, please, don’t eat the soap 😉

The Immaculate Confection will be live through mid-April.

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in Scent Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Immaculate Confection

  1. Kate Amirault says:

    I still voted for Chocolate Jesus. 😉

  2. foxpudding says:

    Spam content removed

    Nice, funky little blog here. I need to check out your cooking stuff. Luck.

Leave a Reply

