What goes on in your mind?

Most days, my mind is a bird. It flits & flutters, alighting on a thought often for barely a moment before taking wing again. I have more ideas than I know what to do with, & I wake up with more every morning. It gets crowded in this brain of mine, so I make lists in an attempt to give my thoughts a bit of breathing room. Then my mind is cluttered with lists, which feels somewhat more reassuring, a gaggle of ideas clinging to common threads like so many preschoolers tethered together for a walk in the sun. They are noisy & demanding, but at least I know where they are.

My hands move like birds, as well. They have to, to keep up with my thoughts. I multi-task like no other, especially on Mondays when I’m wedging in some soap time before my day job starts. Mix, blend, stir, pour, always planning 4 steps ahead so I don’t lose a moment. It is a dance, with myself as partner. Mind & hands awhirling, I fly.

***

But then, there are mornings like this, when the planets align just so & I find my mind calm & still. The bird is perched high in the hedge, moving gently in the spring breeze, content to stay for a moment. These are the times when I tend the proverbial soil & immerse myself in those methodical tasks that usually get pushed aside in favor of more shiny pursuits.

This morning, I rooted myself at the sink & scrubbed out molds. It is basic, manual labor, but one of the tasks most essential to my work. Without the canvas, the painter is lost, & so would I be without clean, dry wells in which to cast my soaps. As I passed mold after mold under the warm water, sloughing away the remnants of my weekend’s work, I let my mind be swept clear as well. Rather than the usual cacophonous chatter of to-do lists, I held in my thoughts the rush of the water, the whisper of the breeze, & the deep bass rumble that roots me to the universe. I remembered to breathe, and suddenly, Monday rolled over like a kitten…

About Hayley

I'm a trained pastry chef, DIY queen & mother with my heart in west England, my soul in Chicago, & my feet in south-central PA. Paintbox Soapworks was born out of my love for handicraft, beautiful fragrances & clean hands. I play around with colors & scents & soothe my insomnia by dreaming up new ideas. I pull heavily from music (Waits, White Stripes, Wilco), books (Tolkien, the avalanche of children's books in C's room) & my own fertile imagination.
This entry was posted in Prattle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What goes on in your mind?

  1. Love it! Do your thing(s) Soap Lady!

  2. This is simply lovely. You put into words what happens to me daily….and it made my little “mind bird” (she is a very fat little chickadee) sit still for a moment and enjoy to your gentle breeze and marvel at how it was like looking into a pool of deep, still water at her own reflection. Oh, and without the lists I to could not corral my “daily dozen” new creative thoughts! Sometimes I wonder if I should make a ‘master list of lists” lol! But believe me, I barely get my chickadee to stay still long enough for one at time….your blog just became one of my daily reads! My blog is still a work in progress (as is my bath goods business) but you can check it out at http://www.thehappychick.com and feel free to leave me your feedback.

Leave a Reply

